Top Ten Makeup Loves 

I am a big fan of anything that will enhance what I’ve already got (without changing my face contours). I like bright colours on my lips and wide open eyes. I like lipstick and mascara. The products you see above are what I call my “full face.” I use mascara, my favorite colour corrector (for under my eyes and on top of my lips), my favourite concealer (again, for under my eyes and on top of my lips), my favourite bases (the one by Nars I use more often because it has skin benefits and it includes SPF), a face primer, and several of my favourite lipsticks. No eyeshadow here because, as I said in my last post, I just don’t wear it that often (it comes by invitation only). 

So, without any further commentary, here is a closer look at my top ten favourite makeup products…

1. Nars Tinted Moisturizer (shade “Martinique”) 

Oh my goodness, I can’t tell you how much I love this product. I have been using this for years (by applying it with my hands), and I honestly belive it’s the best face base out there. It photographs well, it goes on smooth, and it’s a perfect colour match for me (though that is not a surprise as Nars is a wonderfully inclusive makeup and skincare brand). 

2. Maybelline Fit Me Foundation (shade “Coconut”)

This product has really been a suprise to me because it’s so hard to find a good drugstore product that works for my skin colour. Well, I found this one (and the concealer pictured down below), and I’m very happy with it. 

3. Maybelline Master Prime Blur + Smooth

I use this primer under my Maybelline foundation stick. It goes on smooth, it helps my foundation last for a very long time, and it feels very light and easy to wear. 

4.Smashbox Color Correcting Stick (shade “Look Less Tired – Dark”)

This is the colour correcting base that I use with my concealer (which I use when I want a glowy and highlighed look). It’s very creamy, it’s easy to apply, it comes with a sharpening pencil (which I have yet to use), and it’s very good.  

5. Revlon PhotoReady Concealer (shade “Deep 006”)

I use this as a highlighter (for the skin above my top lip and for under my eyes). It goes hand-in-hand with my Smashbox colour corrector, and it does such an amazing job brightening my under eye and top lip areas. 

6. Maybelline Color Elixir (shade “Radiant Ruby 530”)

I bought this winner of a lip colour on sale at an I.D.A. very early this year. As a lipstick savant, I can never say that my lipstick collection is complete (because new lipstick is always being released in the beauty world), but I do have my favourites. Overall, I am so happy that I bought this one (for $2.00 or so).

7. YSL Rouge Pur Couture Lipstick (shade 214 – Rouge on Fire)

This terracotta coloured lipstick is one of my favourites because it’s rich, it’s buttery, it stays on, and the colour is like fire on. Even though I wore it in winter, I think it will be ideal when I’m deeper skinned in the summer. 

8. YSL Rouge Pur Couture Lipstick (shade 212 – Alternative Plum)

This is a newer purchase for me. I love purple lipstick (it’s my favourite colour) and this one glides on so easily. It’s as smooth as you can possibly imagine, it’s highly pigmented, and it’s gorgeous on. 

9. NYX Matte Lipstick (shade MLS 30 Aria)

I first bought this lipstick a year or so ago at the NYX store on Queen West. The colour is so highly pigmented, it’s very matte, and it stays on forever. I love this one. 

10. Maybelline The Colossal Volum Express Mascara 

I have been using this mascara for years. I love it because the wand is really good at grabbing my lashes and extending them as high as humanly possible. This stuff really opens my eyes up. 

Leave a Reply

