Trying

Sweet Treats 001
“Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” – Hebrews 11:1

Hi, my name is Adaora, and I’ve tried more times than I’ve succeeded.

How many times do you try until you get tired of trying? How many times do you have to try until you get what you want out of trying?

I can kind of answer both questions: You have to try as many times as it takes to get what you’re after because anything that’s worth having in life takes more than a little bit of trying to get. You have to give things and people time to work themselves out (because there are always other things and people involved in your dreams).

I have a lot of dreams (bigger than what might fit in the front door); My dreams are so big that some might scoff if they knew what all of them were. My dreams are so large that I sometimes wonder if there are enough hours in the day (because, as much as we plan for more than today, tomorrow is never promised until we get there) or if there is enough time to do everything that I have to want to do. My dreams are so enormous that people have looked me in the eye and tried to talk me right out of them (you know this).

What keeps me going is faith: a long time ago I decided that it’s OK to try and fail. I decided that it’s OK to keep trying until I get the outcome I want (within the parameters of outside circumstances). I decided that it’s OK to try for a very long time (before seeing a glimmer of anything), and I decided that its OK to fail more times than I win (because that’s what you have to do in life in order to make it however you want to).

Guess what? I’m still trying (because the wins that come from trying are the best part).

Adaora

Leave a Reply

