What I use: Face Edition

IMG_0010

I have a skincare routine because I like my face and I would like for it to stay as it is for as long as humanly possible. Happily, I can say that if I want a glass of wine I get carded, and if I’m getting ‘checked out’ of my wallet – when I buy anything – I still get called “dear.” I’ve tried a lot of high-end skincare (Origins would have to be my favourite) and it taught me to look for the drugstore versions of everything high-end. Here is the stuff that keeps my skin healthy:

Step 1: Garnier Clean Smoothing Cream Cleanser

skin 003

Step 2 &3: DAYTIME: L’Oreal Youth Code Texture Perfecting Serum + Garnier Skin Renew Radiance Moisture Serum /  EVENING: L’Oreal Youth Code Serum Intense & L’Oreal Youth Code Cream

IMG_0016IMG_0021

In the morning I use the L’Oreal Youth Code Texture Perfector Serum because it keeps my skin smooth and I can feel it going into my face (I promise). When I use it with the Garnier Skin Renew Cream its like my skin got a smoothie (which it needs in my very late twenties). In the evening I use the L’Oreal Youth Code Serum Intense because its not as thick as the daytime serum and the matching Youth Code Cream – as is the case with the serum- are the kind that go in for overnight skin cell turnover time.

Step 4: Aveeno Positively Ageless anti-wrinkle eye cream

20151007_151601

I like this for the morning and the evening because a little bit goes a long way: a pea sized amount is all I use for under my eyes, at the side of my eyes, and between my eye brows (because I’m preventing wrinkles from ever showing up on the face that I love).

Step 5: Extra Virgin Olive Oil for my neck & chest

IMG_0037

I use the regular olive oil that most people use for drizzling (or cooking badly) to moisturize my neck, chest, and my entire body because it works: in the winter, if I’m not using extra virgin olive oil, my skin gets so dry that it flakes and peels. When your skin isn’t hydrated it cracks and wrinkles; since oil prevents stretch marks it stands to reason that oil also stops stretch marks (wrinkles) on your neck and chest too.

Weekly masks:

IMG_002320151007_132844

L-R: Freeman’s Golden Grain Facial Brightening Mask, Cucumber Facial Peel-Off Mask, Facial Anti-Stress Dead Sea Mineral’s Mask, Sweet Tea & Lemon Peel Away Clay Mask, & Banana-Oat Instant Smoothing Mask

It looks like a lot but its really not: I use these masks depending on how close to my period I am. If I’m on week one (freshly away from it- just ended) I use the Cucumber Facial Peel-Off (which is useful because you feel your skin being refreshed and awakened). When I’m two weeks into my cycle I use the Golden Grain Facial Brightening (because blood isn’t rushing and my skin likes to be glowy). Three weeks into my cycle (a week before my period) I like the Sweet-Tea Lemon Peel Away because it calms my skin down before I have to deal with bleeding, and it stops my skin from acting crazy (re: spots). During period week I use the Facial Anti-Stress Dead Sea Mineral’s because my skin gets period-stress (due to the exhaustion that comes with bleeding and living life at the same time). The Banana-oat Instant Smoothing is a smoothie for your face: when you put it on it on (like a spreadable glob) it smells of bananas, dries into your skin, and leaves only a thin film on your skin. Although I have to use face wipes to get the film off my face, it leaves my skin so smooth that its worth it.

One more thing on face masks: the peel off ones (Cucumber and Sweet Tea & Lemon) don’t remove all the way once they’re fully dry. You need face or body wipes of some sort (any brand as long as they’re not too wet) to help take them off. If you’re not careful the mask leftovers will flake on your face.

– Adaora

Leave a Reply

