Sweet Acorn Squash Bread

yass 001

yass 002
I posted pictures of this ~on the fly~ squash bead on my personal Facebook a few days ago, and one of my coolest friends asked me for the recipe. I’ve been in a bread baking mood lately (recently its been banana bread, butter bread with honey and cinnamon, and others in the oven) and this was my latest effort. This one is by far  my absolute favourite of them all. Squash works really well with cinnamon, sugar, parsley, and just about anything you want to pair it with. After taking the time to type up the email, it seemed easy enough to copy and paste the recipe and all instructions here too. Let me know what you think!

Sweet Acorn Squash Bread

Ingredients:

Wet:
1/4 of a medium sized acorn squash (boiled, until soft, on the stove, and unseasoned)…should be soft enough to mash easily
2 eggs, beaten
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract or vanilla paste
1 cup of liquid sugar (I used honey, but agave nectar or coconut nectar work well too)

Dry:
2 cups of flour (I used semolina, but All Purpose Flour & Brown Rice Flour work well too)
1 cup of dry sugar (date sugar, coconut palm, or raw sugar works fine)
1 tablespoon of baking soda
1 teaspoon of sea salt
1 teaspoon of parsley
2 tablespoons of ground cinnamon

Kitchen Stuff You’ll Need:
1 dry bowl
1 wet bowl
1 wooden spoon
1 metal brad pan
cooking spray or olive oil and a silicon basting brush

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350

Thoroughly grease your bread pan with cooking spray or baste your bread pan with oil and set it aside.

To your dry bowl add flour, dry sugar, baking soda, sea salt, parsley, and ground cinnamon. Mix it all up and set it aside.

To your wet bowl add acorn squash, eggs, liquid sugar, and vanilla extract or paste. Mash the squash a bit and mix in the eggs at the same time (so they’re all incorporated).

With your wet mix incorporated, its now time to pour your wet bowl mix into your dry bowl. Mix mix mix carefully until it has the consistency of a runny but somewhat lumpy – because of the squash- batter. It should be much thinner than a muffin batter but thicker than a pancake batter. And you should be able to easily pour it into your bread pan.

Go ahead and pour your batter into your thoroughly greased baking pan. The next step is part optional and part preferred/must do:

I like to set my batter filled bread pan on my oven (so the baking soda can percolate and expand a bit) before actually putting it in the oven to cook. I let it sit there for about 10 to 15 minutes. While my batter percolates on the stove (here’s the optional part), I wash the dishes. This is the only time I don’t mind doing the dishes. I sometimes lick a some of the batter from the bowl, the wooden spoon, and my fingers, before setting it in the sink to wash.

Bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes to 55 minutes(with a toothpick coming out clean from the centre of it). You should let it sit for about 15 minutes before eating, so it can cool down and get itself together. Then go ahead and eat it! 🙂

yass 003
See that parsley in there?! That’s the good stuff!

Adaora

 

Leave a Reply

