Hair, Skin, & Body

blog 001

It’s been a while (exactly a month to be exact) since I’ve published a post here. So sorry, but I had a lot of heavy stuff going on in my life (and still do actually), that temporarily managed to put this happy place on hold for a little bit. Still managed to tweet (because, as you know, it takes two seconds to do) but everything in my life has been at a standstill. Hopefully, that will change soon. 

In any case, here I am with  a post about a few of the things I have been loving in April, May, and now into June. I refuse to call this any kind of ‘Monthly Favourites’ post (everyone else does that!), because you’ve read enough of those. Instead, call it a mash up of hair skin and body….and nails!

Down Under Natural’s Hypoallergenic ‘All Hair Types Conditioner’ 

blog 001

I’ve been using this for conditioner for hair washing. The consistency, which I would describe as thicker than a lotion but not as thick as a cream, is ideal for working into the hair and rinsing it out. It has amazing slip. I’m not sure I would repurchase it again, as I’m not entirely committed to it yet, but I assure you it does the job for natural hair.

Speaking of hair, I have a half-up/half down thing going on today. Here’s how my ‘fro looks freshly washed and conditioned:

blog 003 blog 004
– 3b/3c realness.

Nivea Sheer Comfort Deodorant ‘No Aluminium Added’  in Jasmine 

blog 007

Aluminum in deodorant has proven to be an irritant for the pores in my pits. Discovering this deodorant (in Walmart of all places!) has been a life saver. Of course, I bought more than one, because I need to keep this stuff in my life. It smells  so good. So good, in fact, that I’ve been on the hunt for a candle that smells exactly like it (no luck yet….). It works well with my usual perfume too (more on that later!) or on its own. Suffice to say, I believe in this deodorant. It does good work.  You won’t stink after a long walk either!

Sally Hansen Diamond Strength Nail Colour in 89

blog 009

blog 005

 

For the most part, I like nail polish that’s shinny and sparkly free. The reasoning for that is this: I like to match up my nail polish to my lipstick. I wear my tomato red lipsticks with a complimentary nail polish, my purple lippy’s with their matches, and orange with orange, pink with pink…you get the idea. In the case of green or blue or yellow nail polishes, I go for a nude lipstick. This Sally Hansen red is very nice; the brush works well with short nails, it applies colour evenly, and you can get at your nail edges well. The staying power is good too; I usually get 3 or 4 days out of it (depending on what I’m doing with my hands – usually baking or cooking or eating!), but I haven’t seen it last longer. I would definitely recommend it. Word of warning: I’m not sure if this is still available in stores. In fact, I don’t remember where I bought it. It may have been at Shoppers Drug Mart or Walmart or Rite Aid….either way, a very long time ago.

– Adaora

Leave a Reply

