Top Tunes of 2013 (That Will Carry Me Into 2014): Beyoncé, One Direction, The Strokes, Iron & Wine

A black background with the word "BEYONCÉ" in the middle in pink font

There is something about the close of a year that makes me uneasy:  I’m reminded of the things I meant to do, over the course of the year (but didn’t), promises I made to myself (but didn’t keep), and goals I meant to reach (but didn’t). It makes me feel like I’m running out of time. I feel uneasy, restless, and more impatient for transformation.

There is one thing I’ll never feel time sensitive too, and that’s music: I listen as I cook, bake, eat, sleep, and dream. So why not share my top list of 2013?

Readddy? Ok…,.

Beyoncé – Beyoncé

A black background with the word "BEYONCÉ" in the middle in pink font

Best songs: Every damn song on this album. Special mention: Grown Woman, Grown Woman GROWN WOMAN, GROWN WOMAN….READY OK? GROWN WOMAN

One Direction – Midnight Memories 

Best songs: Story Of My Life, Little Black Dress, Best Song Ever, Diana, Strong, Happily

Goo Goo Dolls – Magnetic

Best songs: Rebel Beat, Come To Me, Bringing On The Light, Last Hot Night, Happiest of Days, Bullet Proof Angel

The Backstreet Boys – In A World Like This

Best songs: In A World Like This, Madeline, Breathe, Show ‘Em (What You’re Made Of), Love Somebody, Try, Feels Like Home, Soldier

Editors – The Weight of Your Love 

Best songs: The Weight, Sugar, What Is This Thing Called Love, Formaldehyde, Nothing, Honesty, Bird of Prey, The Phone Book

Tamar Braxton – Love & War 

Best songs: The One, All The Way Home, Sound Of Love, Thank You Lord

Janelle Monáe – The Electric Lady 

Best songs: Electric Lady, Givin Em What They Love, We Were Rock & Roll, Dance Apocalyptic, Sally Ride, Ghetto Woman, Our Favourite Fugitive, Victory, Can’t Live Without Your Love, Dorthy Dandridge Eyes,

Kings Of Leon – Mechanical Bull

Best songs: Supersoaker, Rock City, Doesn’t Matter, Wait For Me, Temple, Comeback Story, Coming Back Again, Tonight

Natalie Maines – Mother 

Best songs: Mother, Without You, Free Life, Silver Bell, Lover, You Should’ve Come Over, I’d Run Away Take It On Faith

Eliza Doolittle – In Your Hands

Best songs: Let It Rain, Walking On Water, In Your Hands, Checkmate, Team Player, Make Up Sex, Big When I Was Little Euston Road

 She & Him – Volume 3 

Best songs: I’ve Got Your Number Son, Baby, Somebody Sweet To Talk To, Together, Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me (<-one song), Snow Queen, Sunday Girl, London

One Republic  – Native 

Best songs: Counting Stars, I Loose Myself, Feel Again, I Lived, Light It Up, Au Revoir, Something I Need

The Avett Brothers – Magpie and the Dandelion

Best songs: Open Ended Life, Morning Song, Never Been Alive, Bring Your Love To Me, Good To You, Skin and Bones, Vanity

James Blunt – Moon Landing

Best Songs: Face The Sun, Bonfire Heart, Heart to Heart, Miss America, The Only One, Bones, Blue on Blue

Celine Dion – Loved Me Back To Life 

Best songs: Loved Me Back To Life, Somebody Loves Somebody, Water and a Flame, Overjoyed, Unfinished Songs

Iron & Wine – Ghost on Ghost

Best songs: Caught in the Briars, The Desert Babbler, Joy, Grace for Saints and Ramblers, Sundown (Back to the Briars), Winter Prayers, Lovers’ Revolution

Noah And The Whale – Heart of Nowhere

Best songs: Heart of Nowhere, All Through the Night, Lifetime, One More Night, Now Is Exactly The Time, There Will Come A Time, Not Too Late

Sir Paul McCartney –  New

Best songs: Early Days, New, Appreciate, Everybody Out There, I Can Bet, Looking at Her, Sacred

The Strokes – Come Down Machine 

Best songs: Tap Out, All The Time, One Way Trigger, 80’s Come Down Machine, 50/50, Chances, Happy Ending

2 comments

Leave a Reply

