The Saviours: Skin, Face, Hair, Body

Saviours 010

SKIN & LIPS:

Skincare:

Saviours 007

I love love love the Real Simple’s Roll-on: believe me, It works. And Avon makes a really good toner: it cleans off the left over tinted moisturizer (that I somehow seem to miss removing every time) and it also helps bolster the effectiveness of the just OK moisturizer The evening lip balm I’m currently using, called Paw Paw, is the bomb dot com: It is so moisturizing and so long lasting. I like using it after I’ve taken off all my makeup. Once I’ve smoothed it on it just sinks in and works overnight. Then I wake up the next morning with soft as silk lips. The Aussies are so lucky to have easy access to this! See it again here.

Lips:

Saviours 009

L-R: Revlon Lip Butter in Tutti Fruitti, Maybelline Color Whisper in Orange Attitude & Cherry On Top, Rimmel Lasting Finish by Kate Moss #9, Revlon Kissable Balm Stain in Smitten, Burt’s Bee’s Honey Lip Balm

I love using Burt’s Bee’s Honey Lip Balm as a lip base because it’s thick, creamy, and it protects my lips from the ugly lipstick bleed! Also, as it gets colder, it acts as an emollient and a moisture barrier at the same time. Now, as for the lipstick, you know I love a bright lip: The only colour I won’t wear on my puckers is purple or blue (because that’s just odd). For some swatches see my autumn/winter lipsticks post.

HAIR:

Water + Vegetable oil

Saviours 001

This looks kinda funny, doesn’t it? Well don’t laugh: Vegetable oil is what your curly ‘fro hair has been waiting for; I use the vegetable oil for hot oil treatments (that is, slathering it on my hair and scalp, applying a heated turban (or a hot towel that’s been warmed in the dryer – that works too), and letting it cook – gently – for 30 to 40 minutes. I’ve also mixed oil and water in a spray bottle and applied it as regular mist to my hair. And damn, has my hair seen the difference: My hair cape is as soft as butter these days. As. Soft. As. Butter.

BODY:

Saviours 008

So, this Dove go fresh body wash is really good y’all: It is as thick as a lotion (which my dry skin really likes), and it cleans without stripping my skin of moisture. I love it. And, once I’ve stepped out of the shower I love slathering on the Live Clean Replenishing Body Lotion with Argan Oil too: It’s thick, creamy and hydrating. But it’s also very runny (so be careful). I’ve also talked about the Live Clean Body Lotion here.

What are your cold weather saviors?

5 comments

Leave a Reply

