Food #1: On Chocolate & Gluten Free Chocolate Chip-ish Cookies

Hersheys and cookies 002

My fixation with chocolate reached new heights this week when I finished – not one but two – bars of Hershey’s chocolate: Hershey’s Cookies ‘n’ Creme and Almonds & Toffee. I succumbed to chocolate pangs that had been plaguing me throughout the course of shark week in a major way: Mother nature really did a number on me for a few days – the pain was so real I just clutched and threw a fit with the bed – and the only relief I could get was to bite off a piece of chocolate and moan for the small semblance of chocolate joy it brought me. So um, yea. I went to town on Hershey’s this weekend.

As you can see, I had already finished one-third of the bar en-route to my bedroom – gobbled up a sizable portion of that cookies n creme bad boy before I even got home. As for the second one, we won’t speak of how quickly that came and went. Thank you, Hershey’s for being you.

Hersheys and cookies 009

Hersheys and cookies 010

These were a surprise: I thought they might be just OK. But, as it turns out, they were unbelievably glorious; I mean, they were seriously good to me and my taste buds. My taste-y senses danced several jigs tonight: Once when the batter was wet – and I could hardly contain myself when I took a small bite, and the second time as it came fresh out of the oven (still crumbly and incredibly perfect). Now, as I’m sitting here writing this recipe to share with you, having just had my ****** cookie, I’m having to hold myself back from going in on the whole container. They are so good. 

Ingredients: 

2 1/2 cups Bob’s Red Mill Whole Grain Brown Rice Flour (I cannot guarantee the same results if you use anything else. These are gluten-free people!)
1 Teaspoon of Baking soda
1/2 Teaspoon of Salt
1 Cup of Chocolate chips (or none – cause seriously, this batter is so damn good you can just leave it alone as is)
1 Cup of Dark brown sugar
1/2 Cup of Turbinado sugar (or raw sugar that hasn’t been over processed and milled to a mist. You’ll need the texture of turbinado or raw sugar)
1 Teaspoon of Cinnamon
2 Eggs ****
1 Cup of Vegetable oil
2-3 tablespoons of Vegetable oil

*** To make this a recipe vegan you could just substitute the eggs for flax seeds that have soaked in water for ten minutes (to make them have an egg-y or other egg substitutes).

Directions:

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper (this is important as you will lift the cookies (while they lay on the parchment paper) from the baking sheet once they’re done. Set aside.

In two separate mixing bowls combine the dry ingredients (excluding the sugars) and the wet ingredients (that is, the eggs and the oil) in another. Set aside your dry bowl. Whisk the wet ingredients until incorporated and then add cinnamon and both sugars to your wet bowl. Whisk that up too until it’s all incorporated.

Then take your wet bowl and add it 1/3 of a way at a time into the dry bowl (being careful to not let the flour spill out of its bowl) until you’ve got everything happily settled in together.

Here’s where the extra 2-3 tablespoons of oil might come in: because it’s a rice flour it might need a bit of help to mix and turn the way you need it to  (so the batter can welcome in the chips). If your dough is alright without it then that’s cool. Mine needed a bit of help as I let the chips fall where they…may do. (You see what I did there?!)

This is a hands-y job: Use your hands to mix the chips into the dough. Once it’s mixed in, your dough should look like this.

Here’s how the batter should look: 

Hersheys and cookies 005

Not too soft but when you form them your hands should take on some of the oil in it.

Here’s how they should look on the sheet: 

Hersheys and cookies 006

Hersheys and cookies 007

Bake on high at 150F/300c for about 7 minutes (this is what I call “the sweet spot”) or until they puff up real nice.

Here’s how they should look out of the oven (puffed up and barely golden): 

Hersheys and cookies 004

Leave them on a cooling rack to dry. They will be soft. But in 4 or 5 minutes they’ll be just right. Of course, if you’re impatient like me – and don’t mind them being a bit crumbly – have at it as soon as you pull them from the oven.

Makes: approx 24 cookies

If you try this recipe, let me know what you think!

xoxo Adaora

13 comments

  1. My sis loves baking, will print this recipe for her and see how they come out, hey look delish! Thanks girl. Hersheys Cookies’ Cream all my all time favorite chocolate.
    Smiles!!!

  2. Hey Duchess,
    My sis used your recipe and made the best cookies ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    It’s a winner girl, delicious!!!!! Try this one ladies, it’s a triple winner 🙂 🙂 🙂
    The only con, finished way too quickly, make about 48, you might have about 3 left over 🙂
    Smiles!!!!

Leave a Reply

