My Top (Drugstore) Autumn/W—— Lipsticks

autum lipsticks 003

You may have heard about how much I love lipstick.

Lately, new lipsticks have given the older ones a shove in the save for later box. It is a box that I sometimes forget about when I’m smack dab in the middle of a lipstick roll. The reds, pinks, oranges, reds, pinks, oranges….how can you not play with them?

These are my current favourite Autumn/W—– lipsticks:

autum lipsticks 002

autum lipsticks 012

Image and swatches L-R: Revlon Kissable Balm Stain in Smitten, Maybelline Color Whisper, Made it Mauve & Berry Ready,Rimmel Lasting Finish by Kate Moss #9, Revlon Lip Butter in Raspberry Pie, Maybelline ColorSensational in Fifth Avenue Fuchsia, Maybelline ColorSensational Vivid in Vibrant Mandarin & Vivid Rose.

Revlon Kissable Balm Stain in Smitten:

autum lipsticks 004

I was not trying to buy this one. I had my eye on Honey, Lovesick, and Rendevous. I was not trying to…but damn is it ever pretty? I mean, it’s such a glorious plummy shade. I had to have it. It smells minty, it’s highly moisturizing, and so pigmented. it’s the perfect quintessential fall shade.

Maybelline Color Whisper in Made it Mauve:

autum lipsticks 006

Made it Mauve was the first one I wore after purchasing my err large quantity of lipsticks – which you might think was obscene if you were looking at me like my sister and the lady at the checkout did. Yes, they’re all for me. Do you mind? It’s the dustiest, warmest rose-y mauve. A very nice dip in a warm, and very stylish, looking pool. Or a lukewarm hot tub.

Maybelline Color Whisper in Berry Ready:

autum lipsticks 005

I have been loving Berry Ready madly. In the tube it’s a completely innocent looking berry ( with hints of brown – a very warm colour.) But on deeper skin…oh boy! It’s an electric – but not so shocking – pink-y red with the barest hint of rose in it. I am in love.

Rimmel Lasting Finish by Kate Moss #9:

autum lipsticks 007

Kate Moss Lasting Finish #9 is one of my favourites. And, funnily enough, the only old(ish) faithful lipstick on this list. It’s highly pigmented, absolutely beautiful, comfortable to wear, and – as super bonus for me – it smells of vanilla. I just can’t get enough of this one.

Revlon Lip Butter in Raspberry Pie:

autum lipsticks 008

Raspberry Pie was a super slow burn for me; I was just knee deep obsessed, and still am actually, with her cousin Tutti Frutti. But as it gets…um, farther away from warm weather (and I’m not going to name the less than sunny season that’s on the way), she’s within arms reach now.

Maybelline ColorSensational in Fifth Avenue Fuchsia:

autum lipsticks 009

So, I saw Crystalis’s swatch of Fifth Avenue Fuchsia – her swatches allowed me to ballpark how it might look on me – and I had to have it. It’s really her fault that I have this one. Fifth Avenue Fuchsia It’s a glorious, glorious lipstick. Mm. I think I’ll put this on tomorrow.

Maybelline ColorSensational Vivid in Vibrant Mandarin:

autum lipsticks 010

I love a rich orange and tangerine for Autumn/Winter. Vibrant Mandarin is the most amazing bright – but not too bright – orange/coral with a touch or red-pink lipstick that you ever did see. I was on the fence about this one, as I had put quite a few things in my bag that day, but it was love at first swatch. No regrets.

Maybelline ColourSensational Vivid in Vivid Rose:

autum lipsticks 011

Before I swatched Shocking Coral (which I also enjoy) and Vibrant Mandarin I had my eye on this one. Vivid Rose is so beautiful on brown skin. It is a glorious medium toned pink, and It perks up my lazy style days.

So, that’s how I’m dressing my lips over autumn and **cough** um…that other season that comes after autumn. My lips are all dressed up!

What are you favourite autumn/winter lipsticks (drugstore or otherwise?)

-Ada

4 comments

Leave a Reply

