Recipes I’ve Been Meaning to Try and a Milestone Reached!

MILESTONE

 Mm-mm, don’t they look tasty?!

Baked Buffalo Tempeh Tenders  by Cara at Fork and Beans

forkandbeans

Cauliflower Soup with a Parmesan Crisp and Truffle Oil by The Bored Vegetarian 

theboredvegetarian

Cornmeal Crusted Sweet Potato Fries with Avocado Cream by Rebecca at Season to Season Cooking

cornmealcrusted sweet potato fries

Green Goddess Guacamole from Julia at Free People’s Food Blogfreepeoplegreengoddessguac

I have been living as a vegetarian for a year.

This is a huge deal for me because, aside from being a former chicken lady, coming from a meat eating family it was an incredible lifestyle change.

Eating meat started to have a negative impact on my health. After doing my research I found that adopting a vegetarian lifestyle would change my quality of life for the better. And funnily enough, meat became the thing that I had to quit cold turkey!

I have learned a thing or two about living meat-free. The most important thing I’ve learned, which I will share with you, is this:

There is life after meat! 

As a foodie my greatest fear, of living as a vegetarian, was that I would loose my sense of contentment, which I do indeed enjoy, after a meaty meal. I grew up with parents who have never been adventurous in the kitchen. My family is, as they’ve always been, all about meat.  So I wondered if I would be any good at living without meat in my life. And I had to re-learn everything I thought I knew about flavour and food.

Happily, I can report that my fears were unfounded.  Food tastes just as good without meat in it! And yes, you can get food satisfaction with a vegetarian diet.

As for bacon, which I confess that I do miss dearly, I’ve heard that thinly sliced, spiced, and smoked coconut resembles the real thing. I have yet to test this theory.

There has been a lot experimenting over the course of a year. And that means I have a lot of food and drink to share with you!

Ada

One thought on “Recipes I’ve Been Meaning to Try and a Milestone Reached!

  1. Pingback: There is No Secret To Loosing Weight | The Duchess: Enjoyment of Everything

Leave a Reply

